The Company

Cartoon de Salvo is Alex Murdoch, Neil Haigh, and Brian Logan.

The company started life in the late 1990s, and made our first few shows with the support of Battersea Arts Centre under the artistic directorship of Tom Morris. In the last fifteen years, our devised, sometimes improvised, theatre shows have been performed extensively in London, around the UK, on the rural touring circuit, at festivals (Glastonbury, Edinburgh, Hong Kong…) and at venues around the globe.

For more info on our shows, click here.

Over the years we’ve partnered with and performed at organisations as diverse as Farnham Maltings, the Lyric Hammersmith, The World Famous, BAC, Newbury Corn Exchange, Beaford Arts, Soho Theatre, the Kennedy Center and Huish Episcopi village hall.

Alex Murdoch was artistic director of Cartoon de Salvo from 1997-2011. Alex, Neil and Brian are now co-artistic directors. Independently of Cartoon de Salvo, we’re all busy in the world of theatre and the arts. Alex is making work with Improbable Theatre and National Theatre Wales, and developing her support framework for women in independent theatre, Birdhouse. For Alex’s full biog, visit her website. Neil’s show The Summer House was recently produced by Fuel Theatre and toured the UK; his new project Right to Remain Silent is currently in development – in partnership with the Barbican and Shoreditch Town Hall. Brian is also comedy critic of The Guardian newspaper and artistic director of Camden People’s Theatre.

Cartoon de Salvo’s board is Ric Watts (chair), Charlie Morrison, Edward Borlase and Richard Kingdom.

Cartoon de Salvo regularly collaborate with some great artists and theatre-makers. Over the years, these have included – and still include – designer Becky Hurst, performers David Bernstein, Joey Holden, Sophie Russell, Dennis Herdman, Tai Lawrence, Nick Haverson, John Surman, Brian Thunder and many more, composers and MDs Craig Byrne, Paul Kissaun, Daniel Marcus Clark (and The Adventurists!), the late Jim Marcovitch – and R.Wan (watch this space…!); lighting designers Colin Grenfell and Ben Pacey; and other wonderful people including Lee Simpson, Mark Down and Nick Barnes, Paul Murray, Mike Roberts and others.

You can also follow Cartoon de Salvo on Twitter and Facebook.